The ACPPLD, the association of chartered physiotherapists for people with learning disabilities is a clinical interest group of the CSP, Chartered Society of Physiotherapy. It has membership of approximately 270 Physiotherapists from all over the UK.


The aim is to provide a quality service, which is responsive to the needs of the membership, clients and carers.

This includes:

  • information update and exchange,
  • national networking,
  • support and promotion of evidence based practice and research
  • improve the awareness of the rights and needs of people.

The ACPPLD has a National Executive Committee and is also subdivided into 9 regions who all have their own committee. Details for regional committees can be found in the ACPPLD Regions section. The details of the current National Committee are below.

The National committee usually meets 5 times per year and the meetings for 2017 are detailed on our calendar of events page. The minutes from these meetings are available on request. Please feel free to contact committee members or your regional representative if you wish anything to be raised for discussion at the National Executive meetings.

National Executive Committee 2017/18

ChairpersonJenny Tinkler jenny.tinkler@nhs.net 
Secretary & Regions OfficerSue Over sue.over@nhs.net 
TreasurerJacqui Etherington  
Membership SecretaryLiz Griffenacppld1@gmail.com 
Research & Education OfficerSteven Whitton   
Website & social media officerAmanda Leech amandaleech@nhs.net 
Newsletter EditorAngie McManus angie.mcmanus@nhs.net 
Minutes SecretaryOlu Sofuwa  
Member without portfolioSarah Bruce