Model Service Specifications

Year published: 2017

Building on the service model, we are publishing model service specifications that provide additional detail for commissioners about the purpose, functions and intended outcomes of three aspects of the service model. They describe each aspect of the service model and will help commissioners to get it up and running.

 The three model service specifications are:

·        Enhanced (intensive) multi-disciplinary health and social care support

·        Specialist community forensic support

·        Acute Learning Disability Inpatient Services.

Each model service specification is built on existing good practice information and was guided by an advisory group including commissioners, experts by experience, families, clinicians and representative organisations, as well as many other conversations.

The documents are intended to be flexible and will enable local commissioners to review the needs of their local population and meet their needs as well as they can to give people the best quality care and quality of life.

Case studies accompany two of the three specifications to help demonstrate delivery and how the guidance can be used in practice: 

-       Enhanced/intensive support: Ealing Intensive Therapeutic Short Break Service

-       Enhanced/intensive support: Southwark Enhanced Intervention Service

-       Enhanced/ intensive    support:  Gloucestershire Additional Support Service

-       Community forensic support: Avon Forensic Community Learning Disabilities Team

-       Community forensic support: Secure Outreach Transitions Team

The model service specifications have been endorsed by LGA and ADASS, and the publications will be joint branded.

Members of the Learning Disability Professional senate contributed to the development of these Model Service Specifications

Download pdf 1.71 MB